乍一看,印度尼西亞擁有獨特的條件,為比特幣的採用做好準備。作為世界上人口第四大的國家,這個國家主要是以現金為基礎的線下社區,人口眾多(高達80%)仍然沒有銀行存款。由於數字貨幣的固有優勢之一就是不需要擁有銀行賬戶,加密貨幣愛好者一直主張比特幣巨大的潛力,通過提供另一種貨幣匯款方式,使那些無法使用傳統銀行服務的人受益匪淺。轉讓。根據區塊鏈創業公司Pundi X首席執行官Zac Cheah的說法,其他因素 – 國家信用貸款體系的缺失以及智能手機普及率的提高,也使得印尼成為加密貨幣中斷的時代。

鑑於這些肥沃的條件,人們會預期比特幣將在印度尼西亞起飛。而且大部分情況是這樣的。比特幣印度尼西亞公司(Bitcoin Indonesia)首席執行官奧斯卡•達爾馬旺(Oscar Darmawan)表示,印度尼西亞比特幣交易額超過70%的主要交易所已經觀察到他稱為比特幣市場平台用戶的“指數式增長”。他看到他的用戶在2015年增加了5萬名會員,今年達到了50萬名會員。

不過,儘管日交易額達到每天超過1000萬美元,但他相信在抓住更廣泛的消費市場方面幾乎沒有動搖。 “說實話,我們還沒有滲透到印度尼西亞總人口的1%。這個搶占更大市場的機會是巨大的,“Darmawan說。

投資者展望

今年的BlockBali Blockchain會議吸引了來自31個國家的300多人參加。然而,印度尼西亞在國際投資者的雷達方面註冊了一小撮,並不是因為投資者對加密貨幣在那裡的成功感到警惕,而是因為沒有哪個主要參與者相對其他東南亞國家。

“在論文中,印度尼西亞是充分利用區塊鏈技術的地區之一。但是,我仍然沒有看到訪問印度尼西亞的理由,這絕對讓我想到為什麼我們沒有看到最高的創新,“聖地資本公司的創始人兼首席執行官Siddharth Sthalekar說。該公司對區塊鏈公司進行評估和評級,感染控制主任。

雖然廣泛研究亞洲市場的Sthalekar認為,不需要對區塊鏈技術提供機構支持,但其中一個原因是資源沒有被轉移支持。 “這對監管機構來說不是重中之重。區塊鏈技術在印度尼西亞可能不是頭等大事,而在新加坡這樣的地區則是這樣,“他說。

其他投資者也回應了Sthalekar的觀點。 Red Door Ventures的合夥人,前Fenox Venture Capital東南亞區域經理Jeff Quigley回憶說,他在雅加達工作期間沒有遇到過單一的電子貨幣業務,但是“群島中沒有銀行賬戶的人數很多,數字錢包市場“,主要負責推動金融科技的繁榮,以及印度尼西亞Go-Jek和Tokopedia的普及。同樣,基於比特幣的數字錢包Abra的首席執行官Bill Barhydt“還沒有意識到任何人在印度尼西亞進行大量的比特幣業務”,但仍然看好印度尼西亞市場。

比特幣緩慢採用的部分原因是,對於普通消費者來說,其使用情況(包括商店價值和匯款服務)仍然沒有明確的定義。根據Swarm Fund的合夥人和風險投資家Timo Lehes的說法,加密貨幣是普通消費者頭腦混亂的難題。

“在這一點上它仍然是一個相當技術性的產品。即使你有錢包和移動基礎設施,普通用戶實際上也很難正確設置。“

數字支付的新途徑

但僅僅因為印度尼西亞沒有獲得大量的投資,並不意味著沒有比特幣社區的出現,而數字貨幣的新途徑正在逐漸使他們的存在成為現實。

Pundi Pundi就是這樣一家初創公司,從一個無現金的QR支付應用程序開始,現在在雅加達的600家門店中已經有10萬用戶。它旨在允許沒有銀行賬戶的人通過智能手機在實體店中持有,購買和出售加密貨幣,最近推出的Pundi X POS智能設備也為商店,咖啡館和便利店提供零售銷售點消費者商店。 Cheah說:“在通過Pundi X系統進行的任何購買交易中,加密貨幣首先通過與交易所的連接實時轉換為法定貨幣,然後轉交給商家。

Tech In Asia 還列出了另外五家比特幣挑戰現狀的印度尼西亞初創企業,包括使用比特幣作為匯款服務的Bitspark。

(Dan Kitwood / Getty Images的照片)

導航朦朧的規定

但是近來印度尼西亞銀行已經制定了更為嚴格的規定。印度尼西亞中央銀行已經確認,比特幣交易沒有得到法律認可,與印度尼西亞監管機構交談過的Darmawan觀察到,加密貨幣規定的定義不明確,充其量也是朦朧的。

“目前加密貨幣是不是明確界定是否被視為貨幣或商品。他說:“我們確實有點難以遵守任何現行的法規,特別是如果我們不確切地知道如何在法律的角度來看待這種加密貨幣。 “我認為我們的監管機構目前還有很多其他事情要優先考慮。”

但是,包含法規的面紗正在緩慢解除。印度尼西亞銀行就比特幣作為支付手段進行的監管打擊最近導致了印尼支付平台提供商Toko Bitcoin和Bitbayar的關閉 – 儘管對比特幣印度尼西亞這樣的交易所仍然沒有不利影響。根據Cheah發表的聲明,Pundi X也注意到了這些新規定。

但最大的絆腳石是比特幣在巴厘島的共同創始人加里·達克斯特拉(Gary Dykstra),他是一個在巴厘島烏布鎮建立一個加密貨幣社區的團體,他稱之為“社會變革”比特幣被廣泛採用。印度尼西亞仍然是一個基於現金的經濟體系,比特幣的廣泛採用將需要一個範式轉變,人們認為比特幣是“一種有用的東西,而不僅僅是一種投機資產”。

留下一個答复

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

At first glance, Indonesia possesses the unique conditions that make it well-poised for bitcoin adoption. As the world’s fourth most populous country, it’s home to a largely cash-based and offline community, and huge swaths of the population—up to 80%— remain unbanked. Because one of the inherent advantages of digital currency is that it doesn’t necessitate having a bank account, cryptocurrency enthusiasts have long championed bitcoin’s immense potential to bring those without access to traditional banking services into the fold by offering an alternative form of money remittance and transfer. Other factors—the absence of a national credit lending system, coupled with increasing smartphone penetration, also make Indonesia ripe for cryptocurrency disruption, according to Zac Cheah, CEO of blockchain startup Pundi X.

Given these fertile conditions, one would expect bitcoin to have taken off in Indonesia. And for the most part, this is true. Oscar Darmawan, CEO of  Bitcoin Indonesia, the country’s major exchange which controls more than 70% of bitcoin transactions in Indonesia, has observed what he calls “exponential growth” in users of Bitcoin Indonesia’s marketplace platform. He has seen his usersgrow 50,000 members in 2015 to 500,000 members this year.

Still, despite reaching a daily transaction value of more than $10 million a day, he believes it has barely moved the needle in terms of capturing the wider consumer market. “To be honest, we have not even penetrated the 1% of the total population in Indonesia. The opportunity to grab an even bigger market is huge,” Darmawan says.

Investor Outlook

This year’s BlockBali Blockchain Conference drew a turnout of over 300 people from 31 countries.  However, Indonesia has registered as a small blip on international investors’ radars—not because investors are wary of cryptocurrency’s success there—but because there haven’t been major players that have emerged to warrant huge investment vis-à-vis other Southeast Asian countries.

 On paper, Indonesia is one of the regions that is well poised to leverage blockchain technology. But I still haven’t seen a reason to visit Indonesia, and that definitely makes me think about why we haven’t seen top innovation,” says Siddharth Sthalekar, founder and CEO of Sacred Capital, a firm which evaluates and rates blockchain companies and ICOs.

While Sthalekar, who has researched the Asian market extensively, believes that institutional support for blockchain technology isn’t needed, one reason is that resources aren’t being diverted to support it. “This just isn’t a priority for regulators on their end. Blockchain technology may not be top of the mind in Indonesia—whereas in jurisdictions like Singapore it is,” he says.

Other investors also echo Sthalekar’s sentiment. Jeff Quigley, partner at Red Door Ventures and former Southeast Asia Regional Manager of Fenox Venture Capital recalls that he did not encounter a single cryptocurrency business while he was working in Jakarta, but that “the sheer number of unbanked in the archipelago makes it a compelling market for digital wallets” and was largely responsible for driving the fintech boom and subsequent popularity of Indonesia’s Go-Jek and Tokopedia. Likewise, Bill Barhydt, CEO of Abra, a bitcoin-based digital wallet is “not aware of anyone doing any significant volume bitcoin business in Indonesia yet,” but remains bullish on the Indonesian market.

Part of the reason for bitcoin’s slow uptake is that for the average consumer, its use cases— which include store value and remittance services— are still not clearly defined. Cryptocurrency is a difficult subject for the average consumer to wrap their head around, according to Timo Lehes, a partner and venture capitalist at Swarm Fund.

“It’s still a fairly technical product at this point. Even if you have the wallet and the mobile infrastructure, it’s actually quite difficult for the average user to get properly set up.”

New Avenues For Digital Payment

But just because Indonesia isn’t gaining huge inflows of investments doesn’t mean that there aren’t bitcoin communities sprouting up, and new avenues for the digital currency are gradually making their presence known.

Pundi- Pundi is one such startup which began as a cashless QR payment app and has since expanded to reach 100,000 users in 600 stores in Jakarta. It aims to allow anyone without a bank account to hold, buy and sell cryptocurrencies in physical stores with a smartphone, and its recent roll-out of the Pundi X POS smart device also offers a retail point of sale consumers in shops, cafes and convenience stores. “In any purchase made through the Pundi X system, cryptocurrency is first converted to fiat currency in real- time through its connection with exchanges, and then fiat is transferred to the merchant,” says Cheah.

Tech In Asia also lists five more bitcoin Indonesian startups challenging the status quo, including Bitspark, which uses bitcoin as a remittance service.

(Photo by Dan Kitwood/Getty Images)

Navigating Hazy Regulations

But in recent times, the Bank of Indonesia has enacted more stringent regulations. Indonesia’s central bank has affirmed that bitcoin transactions are not legally recognized and Darmawan, who has had conversations with Indonesian regulators, observes that cryptocurrency regulations are poorly defined, and hazy at best.

“Currently cryptocurrency is not clearly defined whether it is treated as a currency or a commodity. It is indeed a bit difficult for us to comply with any existing regulations especially if we don’t exactly know how to treat this cryptocurrency in the perspective of law,” he says. “I think our regulators have many other things to prioritize at the moment.”

But the veil enshrouding regulations is slowly lifting. The regulatory crackdown from Bank of Indonesia on bitcoin as payment recently caused the shuttering of Indonesian payments platforms providers Toko Bitcoin and Bitbayar—although there remains no adverse effect on exchanges like Bitcoin Indonesia. According to an issued statementfrom Cheah, Pundi X too has heeded these new regulations.

But the biggest stumbling block, Gary Dykstra, the co-founder of Bitcoins in Bali, a cohort which is invested in building a cryptocurrency community in the Balinese town of Ubud, is what he calls the “social change” that will need to occur before bitcoin is widely adopted. Indonesia is still a largely cash-based economy, and the widespread adoption of bitcoin will require a paradigm shift in which people see bitcoin as “a useful thing rather than just a speculative asset.”

留下一個答复

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here